Enquiry on corporate governance in SMEs: first results

To download: enquete APM

Corporate governance is not the sole preserve of listed companies. It also extends to the thousands of small and medium enterprises seeking to improve their governance action to groom succession, go public, steer growth, or simply facilitate decision-making and shoulder the CEO’s decision-making burden.

This is a reality that needs to factored in to prevent the ‘codes of business conduct’ developed through public corporation experience from being forced through without catering for the specific features and real needs unique to SMEs.

In order to drive compelling proposals in this branch, the French Association for progressive management joined forces with the French Corporate Governance Institute (Institut Français de Gouvernement des Entreprises; IFGE) to lead an enquiry on corporate governance in unlisted French SMEs and SMIs. Here, we present some of the first-in results from what is a pioneering study at French national level.

Premiers résultats de l’enquête sur le gouvernement d’entreprise dans les PME

Pour télécharger : enquete APM

La gouvernance d’entreprise n’est pas réservée aux seules sociétés cotées. Elle concerne aussi des milliers d’entreprises moyennes et petites qui entendent améliorer leurs modes de gouvernance pour préparer une succession, ouvrir leur capital, accompagner leur croissance ou simplement rendre plus efficace la façon dont les décisions sont prises et éviter une trop grande solitude du chef d’entreprise.

Il faut prendre en compte cette réalité pour éviter que des « règles de bonnes conduites » soient imposées à partir des expériences des grandes entreprises cotées, sans tenir compte des spécificités et des besoins réels des PME.

Pour devenir force de proposition dans ce domaine, l’Association Progrès du Management s’est associée à l’Institut Français de Gouvernement des Entreprises (IFGE)  afin de réaliser une enquête sur la gouvernance d’entreprise dans les PME et PMI françaises non cotées. Nous présentons ici quelques résultats de cette enquête, qui est une première en France à l’échelon national.