‘Institutionalist stances on CSR’ – seminar held at the Paris Institute of Political Studies

To download: presentation RSE Sciences Po

Pierre-Yves Gomez staged discussion under the topic: “CSR seeks an even keel: the catch between economic rationalization and radical approaches

“… CSR is often framed at the crossover between the economic boundaries of business firms and the political boundaries of the society encompassing them. This assertion is in itself problematic, as it assumes one strictly economic sphere supposed apolitical, and another political sphere supposed non-economic. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) can be seen as a sort of border membrane between the two, filtering out what the firm is and is not expected to take on board.
I am not referring to the complex and ultimately intractable issue of the boundaries of the firm – a question that reveals the extent to which the production process itself is not localized to any sphere that can be comfortably confined to a clearly-boundaried firm; it now extends well beyond into a virtually impenetrable web of contracts and mutual agreements, even leading to co-dependent technology pathways spawning inter-firm communities encompassing far more than the firms’ respective marketplaces. Any discussion as to the responsibility of a company is therefore already treading delicate ground. However, the substance of what I’m here to discuss lies elsewhere.
I am referring to the more radical issue of the boundaries of enterprise, boundaries meshing both the economic and political spheres. With Polanyi, and backed by a vibrant tradition solidly footed in economic science, this boundary is accepted as an ideological construct, its silhouette shifting with power relationships to force through – and the term is appropriate – a vision encompassing not only the power dynamics of the production system but the broader scope of the actors legitimately ready to govern people by leveraging these production-based power dynamics.
Within this framework, ‘managerial practices’ are purposed towards rationalizing both the power dynamics of economic production and the principles underpinning corporate governance, homothetically remodelling them to fit the same overarching conception of performance. This is the CSR model endorsed and highlighted in management systems research. I begin by surfacing the necessarily economics-driven understructures rationalizing CSR, as based on the evidence available in the management literature (1). I then move on to deliver a more personal analysis of CSR grounded in my own theory of the radical firm, which leads me to show how far CSR should be framed not as a social construct raised against the firm but as a social construct raised by the firm, making it a societal building block (2). We conclude by critically analyzing the significance of the contemporary revival in CSR: what particular crisis in the power relationships between politics and economics does CSR fit so closely that it became necessary to recontour the boundaries of enterprise, and just how does this boundary shift enable firms to step into a more dynamic regulatory role (3)…”
 [end of the excerpt. A paper will be published based on this lecture].

Séminaire Lectures institutionnalistes de la RSE’ à Sciences Po Paris

Pour télécharger : presentation RSE Sciences Po

EXTRAIT Introduction de l’intervention  » La RSE à la recherche d’un point fixe: dilemmes de la rationalisation économique et approches radicales »

« … La RSE est souvent comprise à l’intersection entre l’espace économique des entreprises et l’espace politique de la société qui l’entoure. Dire cela c’est déjà problématique, car cela suppose qu’il existe un espace qui serait strictement économique et a-politique et un espace politique qui ne serait pas économique. Entre ces espaces, la Responsabilité Sociale de l’Entreprise (désormais RSE) exprimerait une espèce de membrane qui filtrerait ce que l’entreprise doit prendre en charge et ne pas prendre en charge.

Je ne fais pas référence ici à la difficile et sans doute insoluble question des frontières de la firme question qui traduit combien le processus de production lui-même n’est pas localisé dans un espace que l’on peut aisément circonscrire dans une firme aux frontières nettes ; il s’étend désormais bien au-delà dans un jeu parfois inextricable de contrats mais aussi d’engagements mutuels voire de dépendance de sentiers technologiques qui rendent solidaires les entreprises entre elles au-delà de leurs marchés respectifs. Parler donc de la responsabilité d’une entreprise est déjà problématique. Mais ce n’est pas là que porte mon propos principal.

Je fais référence à la question plus radicale des frontières des firmes, c’est-à-dire celles qui articulent les espaces économiques et politiques. Avec Polanyi mais aussi avec toute une tradition bien ancrée dans l’économie politique, on admet que cette frontière est une construction idéologique dont le tracé varie avec les rapports de force pour imposer, précisément, une vision non seulement des rapports de production mais plus largement des acteurs légitimes pour gouverner les humains en usant de ces rapports de production.

Dans ce cadre, les « pratiques gestionnaires » ont pour objet de rationaliser, d’une part ces rapports de production, d’autre part les principes de gouvernement d’entreprise en les rendant homothétiques à une même conception de la performance. C’est dans cette logique que s’inscrit la notion de RSE telle que les disciplines de gestion les mettent en évidence : je montrerai dans une première partie quels sont les soubassements nécessairement économiques rationalisant la RSE, tels qu’on peut la repérer dans la littérature en gestion (1). Dans une seconde partie, je développerai une analyse plus personnelle de la RSE, en m’appuyant sur les thèses que je développe sur l’entreprise radicale et je montrerai en quoi la RSE, loin d’être une production sociale contre l’entreprise peut être interprétée comme une production sociale de l’entreprise qui participe ainsi à la construction la société (2). En conclusion nous pourrons nous interroger sur la signification particulière de la résurgence de la RSE dans la période contemporaine : à quelle crise particulière des rapports entre politique et économique correspond-elle pour que le déplacement de la frontière des firmes ait été rendu nécessaire et en quoi ce déplacement permet aux entreprises d’exercer un rôle régulateur renouvelé (3)… » [fin de l’extrait. Cette intervention donnera lieu à publication].