Benjamin Pavageau – Phd Dissertation in progress on the role of giving in leaders’ commitment

This doctoral research, conducted by Benjamin Pavageau, is led by Pierre-Yves Gomez, professor at EMLYON and director of the IFGE. It benefits from the financial support and from the field of observation of the firm Turning Point, as well as funding from CapitalDon Fund which is dedicated to funding research highlighting the theme of giving in the company. Pierre Goursat University Institute participates in the financing of bibliographic resources.

Research Objective

This research intends to show how, in the context of leadership development programs, leaders become aware of their personal commitment and assert it. It is particularly interested in the role of giving in the genesis and affirmation of this commitment.

Our hypothesis is that a leader commits by sharing through acts of giving (time spent, sacrifices, tips, stories, ideas, … ) and that the donations received forge beliefs that are the source of commitment.

Research challenge

The empirical study is done with leaders of large companies, who are beneficiaries of a leadership development program developed by Turning Point.

This research opens up new perspectives on the role of leadership training . If it turns out that acts of giving are critical elements to crystallize the commitment of leaders, the ” leadership training ” raises a number of issues. Indeed, we can not force them to give, or disclose this mechanism of giving without instrumentalizing people and making ineffective the logic of giving and commitment.

However, it would be possible to drive the future leaders to realize that the dynamics of giving are part of “being a leader “, and that this may be a requirement for commitment. This would open up new perspectives on how to design and conduct training or on empowerment of managers and leadership development.

Thèse de Benjamin Pavageau sur le rôle du don dans l’engagement des leaders

La thèse de Benjamin Pavageau était dirigée par Pierre-Yves Gomez, professeur à EMLYON et directeur de l’IFGE. Elle bénéficie du financement, du terrain d’observation et de l’expertise du cabinet Turning Point, ainsi que du financement du fonds CapitalDon, dédié au financement de recherches mettant en valeur la place du don dans l’entreprise. L’Institut Universitaire Pierre Goursat participe au financement des ressources bibliographiques.

Objectif de la recherche

Il s’agit de montrer comment, dans le cadre des programmes de développement du leadership, les leaders prennent conscience de leur engagement personnel et l’affirment. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement au rôle que joue le don dans la genèse et l’affirmation de cet engagement.

Notre hypothèse est qu’un leader s’engage en partageant ses convictions à travers des actes de don (temps passé, sacrifices consentis, conseils, témoignages, idées, …) et que les dons reçus forgent les convictions qui sont à la source de l’engagement.

Enjeu de la recherche

L’étude empirique se fait auprès de leaders de grandes entreprises, qui sont bénéficiaires d’un programme de développement du leadership animé par le cabinet Turning Point.

Cette recherche ouvre des perspectives nouvelles sur le rôle de la formation au leadership. S’il s’avère en effet que les actes de dons sont des éléments déterminant pour cristalliser l’engagement des leaders, la « formation au leadership » soulève un certain nombre d’enjeux. En effet, on ne peut ni obliger à donner, ni dévoiler cette mécanique des dons sans instrumentaliser les personnes et rendre inefficace la logique du don et de l’engagement.

En revanche, il serait possible de conduire les futurs leaders à prendre conscience que cette dynamique du don fait partie de leur « être de leader », qu’elle constitue une condition nécessaire à leur engagement. Cela ouvrirait des perspectives nouvelles sur la manière de concevoir et de réaliser des formations à la prise de responsabilité des managers et au développement du leadership.