Entrepreneur and Democracy: a political theory of Corporate Governance

Pierre-Yves Gomez et Harry Korine, Cambridge University Press, mai, 2008, 328 p

This analysis demonstrates how capitalist enterprise has been scripting the political realization of the liberalist project for over two hundred years now. The dominant concept in political science sets the State and the market in an opposing tension to establish an essentially ‘liberal’ or ‘social-democratic’ balance. Political and economical spheres are scrupulously kept apart.

The analysis set out here demonstrates this perception to be flawed, since it overlooks the fact that the firm is first and foremost a political organization, incontestably the singlemost important driver in today’s societies. The determinant interplay is therefore between the State and the firm. The entrepreneur, as driving force guiding independent private-sector energies towards the successful completion of economic projects, is a key protagonist in taking the Enlightenment’s liberal project from the utopian page to real-world centrestage. Historical analysis in fact highlights how the entrepreneur has emerged to share the same trajectory as this deployment of this political project. The State’s role within this framework is to constantly re-question entrepreneurial power so as to maintain acceptable limits for individual freedom. This it does via two mechanisms: the market, which creates rivalry between firms, and democracy, which legitimizes power by splintering it. The State/enterprise face-off engenders two counterforces: on one side, entrepreneurial leadership, which tends to curb the dispersal of individual energies driven by individual freedoms, and on the other side, the increased splintering of power in modern society, which is preprogrammed to refuse any clustering of this liberty-restraining power. It is the tenuous balance between these two opposing forces that has spawned corporate governance as a means to discipline humans through economic production. The book takes this voluntarily simplistic model as a basis to develop a radical theory on the patterns of societal change: deployment of the liberal project has tended to tendentially democratize corporate governance, and over a period of centuries. The net result is that it has progressively blurred the distinction between legitimate Public-sector (the State) power and legitimate Private-sector (enterprise) power. The ultimate conclusion is that the State’s purportedly weakening grip over the ‘marketplace’ – a much-discussed focus of contemporary debate – is in fact an illusion. What is actually happening is that Firms are increasingly absorbing traditionally State-led functions, and consequently flooding the political scope of influence. This theory is meticulously developed through in-depth cross-disciplinary analysis in the three core strands to have focused on corporate governance research: political philosophy, history, and economics. We begin by exploring how the opposing tensions of entrepreneurial force and social fragmentation have been scripted into contemporary political philosophy since the pioneering debate on political liberalism between Hobbes and Locke, and how they are at the source of legitimate governance in capitalist firms.

In the second and most substantial section, the authors show how three core systems have successively stemmed from the roots of capitalism to form the reference framework defining ‘good’ governance: first the family-centred system, then the managerial system, and finally on to what we term the “public” system. This pattern of change reflects a tendential democratization of corporate governance.

Section three explores the issue of how these shifts have impacted on economic performances. Our interpretative framework is critically compared against the economic theory recently championed by neoliberal schools. We demonstrate why the 1970s marked the start of a shift in corporate governance towards increasingly financially-driven precepts. Modern economic theory, based on shareholder power and financial power, has proposed little more than simply rebottling the fundamental paradigm of liberal political philosophy: balance out unifying entrepreneurial force and State-governed social fragmentation.
 
We conclude by outlined the foreseeable developments that can be expected for ‘total’ capitalist enterprise, which harnesses globalization to sidestep public-authority regulations, soaking up society as a whole in the process. We have sought to ground our analysis by avoiding the all-too-easy tendency to base all-encompassing thought on data from a single country or region. We have therefore elected to systematically illustrate our assertions by cross-comparing data from four nations: the USA, the UK, France and Germany.

Entrepreneur and Democracy: a political theory of Corporate Governance

Pierre-Yves Gomez et Harry Korine, Cambridge University Press, mai, 2008, 328 p

Résumé

Cet ouvrage montre comment l’entreprise capitaliste est au cœur de la réalisation politique du projet libéral, depuis plus de deux siècles. L’idée dominante en sciences politiques oppose l’Etat au marché, dans la recherche d’un équilibre plus ou moins « libéral » ou « social démocrate ». Les sphères politique et économique sont soigneusement distinguées.

Dans cet ouvrage, nous montrons que cette conception est erronée parce qu’elle néglige le fait que l’entreprise est d’abord une organisation politique, sans doute la plus décisive pour nos sociétés modernes. La véritable articulation se situe donc entre Etat et entreprise. L’entrepreneur, entendu comme force orientant les énergies privées et autonomes par un projet économique est une figure indispensable pour que le projet libéral des Lumières ne reste pas une utopie de salon. De fait, l’analyse historique montre que l’émergence de l’entrepreneur coïncide avec et accompagne le déploiement de ce projet politique. Dans ce cadre, le rôle de l’Etat consiste à assurer une remise en cause permanente du pouvoir entrepreneurial pour respecter le principe de liberté individuelle. Il le fait par deux moyens : le marché, qui met les entreprises en rivalités ; et la démocratie qui légitime le pouvoir en le fractionnant. L’opposition Etat/ entreprise conduit donc à opposer deux forces : d’un côté, la direction entrepreneuriale qui a tendance à empêcher la dispersion des énergies des individus du fait de leur liberté, d’un autre côté, le fractionnement toujours accru du pouvoir dans la société moderne, destiné à interdire une concentration de ce pouvoir attentatoire à la liberté individuelle. De l’équilibre instable des deux forces opposées naît le gouvernement des entreprises comme moyen de discipliner les humains par la production économique. A partir de ce modèle assez simplement exprimé, le livre développe une thèse radicale sur l’évolution de nos sociétés : le déploiement du projet libéral a tendance à démocratiser tendanciellement le gouvernement des entreprises, depuis de siècles. Ainsi, il rend de plus en plus ténue la différence entre la légitimité de la Puissance publique (l’Etat) et celle des Puissances privées (les entreprises). On en arrive à conclure que l’affaiblissement de l’Etat face au « marché » qui est au cœur des débats aujourd’hui est une illusion. Le phénomène réel consiste en une absorption croissante des fonctions de l’Etat par les Entreprises, qui tendent ainsi à saturer tout le champ politique. Cette thèse est démontrée de manière rigoureuse en examinant les travaux des trois grandes disciplines qui ont abordées la question du gouvernement des entreprises : la philosophie politique, l’histoire et l’économie. Dans la première partie, nous examinons comment l’opposition entre la force entrepreneuriale et la fragmentation sociale s’inscrit dans la philosophie politique moderne, depuis le débat fondateur du libéralisme politique entre Hobbes et Locke et est à la racine du gouvernement légitime des entreprises capitalistes.

Dans la seconde partie de l’ouvrage, la plus ample, nous montrons que trois régimes principaux se sont succédés, depuis l’origine du capitalisme, pour constituer la référence établissant le « bon » gouvernement: d’abord le régime familial, puis le régime managérial, enfin le régime que nous appelons « public ». Cette évolution s’est traduit une démocratisation tendancielle du gouvernement des entreprises.

La troisième partie examine la question de l’impact de cette évolution sur la performance des entreprises. Nous confrontons en particulier notre grille de lecture à la théorie économique que le néolibéralisme a récemment promue. Nous montrerons pourquoi, à partir des années 1970, le gouvernement d’entreprise a été posé en termes de plus en plus financiers. En s’appuyant sur le pouvoir des actionnaires et de la finance, la théorie économique contemporaine n’a fait que reformuler le dilemme fondamental de la philosophie politique libérale : équilibrer la force entrepreneuriale qui unifie et la fragmentation sociale organisée par l’Etat.

Nous concluons l’ouvrage sur les évolutions futures prévisibles de l’entreprise capitaliste « totale », qui, en se globalisant, contourne la régulation publique et tend à absorber toute la société. Pour étayer nos analyses, nous avons cherché à éviter le tropisme culturel consistant à fonder une réflexion générale sur les données d’un seul pays ou d’une seule région. C’est pourquoi nous illustrerons nos propos en comparant systématiquement des données de quatre pays : Etats-Unis, Grande-Bretagne, Allemagne et France.