Employee ownership and corporate governance

To download : Guedri Hollandts 2008

 Xavier Hollandts and Zied Guedri have published a paper in the April 2008 (No. 183) issue of the Revue Française de Gestion entitled “Les salariés capitalistes et la performance de l’entreprise” [For-profit employees and firm performance].
 
The authors investigate the effects of employee ownership on firm performance, asserting that employee representation on decision-making boards is liable to undermine the positive spin-off from employee ownership on firm performance. Their results confirmed this hypothesis holds true for corporate administrators representing employee shareholders, but not for trade-unionist administrators.

In historical terms, the frontline employee representatives on the board of directors at French firms under partial if not full State control were always trade-unionists. A recent trend has seen the board of directors or board of trustees open their doors to employee shareholder representatives from outside trade-union circles when the employee ownership group holds a majority position. French law dated 30 December 2006 sets an automatic cut-off point of 3% capital ownership, after which employee shareholder representation becomes a regulatory requirement. This article takes a fresh look at the wave of business endorsement for employee ownership schemes, and attempts to give an empirical answer to two core questions. Firstly, what is the impact of employee ownership on firm performance? Second, what is the cumulative effect of employee representation on the board of directors or the board of trustees and employee ownership on firm performance?

Both are pivotal questions, since from a conceptual standpoint, employee ownership and the spin-off representationship blurs the conventionally-drawn boundaries of corporate governance, as the effectiveness of corporate governance is supposed to be guaranteed by the fact the senior management is forced to bow to the interests of shareholders, which by definition fall outside the firm’s inner perimeter [Hillman & Dalziel 2003; Aglietta & Réberioux 2004]. This paper therefore provides insight into how employee representation – especially through trade union channels – strengthens or, conversely, undermines the positive effects of employee ownership on firm performance.

Our results, drawing on a study led on a sample population of 150 French firms, demonstrate that employee ownership has a strong positive impact on firm performance. The impact is, however, undermined by the presence of an employee shareholder representative sitting on the board of directors or trustees, particularly when the representative stands for the company’s own employee shareholder association. That said, the presence of trade-unionists on the board of directors or trustees does not affect the positive relationship between employee ownership and firm performance. These results will garner more support from politicians and top executives for employee ownership schemes, but they also illustrate the issues involved in integrating employee shareholders into corporate governance policy [Alanche 2007].

Les salariés capitalistes et la performance de l’entreprise – Revue Française de Gestion

Xavier Hollandts (enseignant-chercheur INSEEC et professeur associé IFGE) et Zied Guedri (Professeur EM Lyon et Professeur associé IFGE) publient dans le numéro d’avril 2008 (n°183) de la Revue Française de Gestion un article intitulé « Les salariés capitalistes et la performance de l’entreprise ».

 

Dans cet article, les deux chercheurs examinent les effets de l’actionnariat salarié sur la performance de l’entreprise. Ils suggèrent en particulier que la représentation des salariés est susceptible d’affaiblir les effets positifs de l’actionnariat salarié sur la performance de l’entreprise. Les résultats confirment cette hypothèse pour les administrateurs représentant les actionnaires salariés mais pas pour les administrateurs syndicalistes.

Historiquement, les premiers représentants des salariés au conseil d’administration furent des syndicalistes, au sein de sociétés détenues intégralement ou partiellement par l’Etat français. Plus récemment, les conseils d’administration ou de surveillance ont accueilli des représentants non-syndicalistes des actionnaires salariés lorsque ceux-ci constituent collectivement un actionnaire de référence. La loi du 30 décembre 2006 fixe le seuil de déclenchement automatique de la représentation des actionnaires salariés à 3% du capital. Face à cet engouement croissant pour les mécanismes d’actionnariat salarié, cet article tente de répondre empiriquement à deux questions principales. Premièrement, quel est l’impact de l’actionnariat salarié sur la performance de l’entreprise ? Deuxièmement, quel est l’effet combiné de la représentation des salariés au conseil d’administration ou de surveillance et de l’actionnariat salarié sur la performance de l’entreprise ?

Ces deux questions sont centrales car, du point de vue conceptuel, l’actionnariat salarié et la représentation qui en découle brouillent les frontières traditionnelles du gouvernement de l’entreprise : en effet, l’efficacité du gouvernement l’entreprise est censée être garantie par la subordination des dirigeants aux intérêts des actionnaires, externes par définition à l’entreprise [Hillman et Dalziel 2003 ; Aglietta et Réberioux 2004]. Cet article contribue donc à mieux comprendre en quoi la nature de la représentation des salariés, notamment syndicale, renforce, ou au contraire, nuit à la relation positive entre actionnariat salarié et performance de l’entreprise.

Nos résultats, basés sur une étude portant sur un échantillon de 150 entreprises françaises, démontrent un fort impact positif de l’actionnariat salarié sur la performance de l’entreprise. Néanmoins, cet impact est atténué par la présence d’un représentant des actionnaires salariés au sein du conseil d’administration ou de surveillance, en particulier, lorsqu’il représente l’association d’actionnaires salariés de l’entreprise. En revanche, la présence de syndicalistes au conseil d’administration ou de surveillance n’altère pas la relation positive entre actionnariat salarié et performance. Ces résultats viennent soutenir l’enthousiasme des hommes politiques et des chefs d’entreprises vis-à-vis des mécanismes d’actionnariat salarié mais illustrent également la difficulté d’intégrer les actionnaires salariés au gouvernement d’entreprise [Alanche 2007].

 Pour télécharger : Guedri Hollandts 2008